re-created by Mark di Suvero and Rirkrit Tiravanija
March 2 - May 28, 2006
Whitney Museum of
American Art

Political art -- or art made by artists who are consciously making political statements -- forms one strand of the exhibition. Outside, in the Whitney's Sculpture Court, Mark di Suvero and Rirkrit Tiravanija are recreating di Suvero's PeaceTower, first constructed in Los Angeles in 1966 as a protest against the Vietnam War. The PeaceTower, also known as the Artists' Tower against the War in Vietnam, was erected by a group of concerned artists known as the Artists Protest Committee. Di Suvero's structure was surrounded by panels (2' x 2') made by 400 artists including Judy Chicago, Leon Golub Eva Hesse, Donald Judd, Roy Lichtenstein, James Rosenquist, Mark Rothko, and Nancy Spero.
The 2006 Biennial PeaceTower includes the work of some 180 artists, again on 2' by 2' panels. Among the contributors to the new Peace Tower are Carl Andre, John Baldessari, Matthew Barney, Dara Birnbaum, John Bock, Chakaia Booker, E.V. Day, Tacita Dean, Sam Durant, Olafur Eliasson, Joy Garnett, Joseph Grigely, Hans Haacke, Pierre Huyghe, Sol Lewitt, Robert Mangold, Jonas Mekas, Yoko Ono, Irving Petlin (an originator of the 1966 project), James Rosenquist (one of the original contributors), Martha Rosler, Dread Scott, Kiki Smith, Yutaka Sone, Nancy Spero, Fred Tomaselli, Lawrence Weiner, and Andrea Zittel. An effort was made to invite as many of the original artists as possible to contribute panels to the current project.
photograph: Joy Garnett
larger image of painting

larger screen shot
Peace Tower articles + images:

Whitney: Interactive Peace Tower
Reuters (2/28/06)
Artnet (3/1/06)
Artforum: March 2006; Cover
New York Times Art Review (3/3/06)